Book Reviews

‘Good Boy’ by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy are a powerful duo. Both authors individually have great series that I enjoyed reading. ‘Off-Campus’ by Elle Kennedy and ‘Ivy Years’ and ‘Brooklyn Brusiers’ by Sarina Bowen are my favorites. I first read ‘Him’ series by the powerful duo and what can I say I love Wesley and Jamie, a.k.a. ‘Wesmie’ 🙂 I was waiting for the third book or a novella for the Jamie and Wesley’s wedding and definitely did not expected their wedding become the start of a new series 🙂 (No complaints here. I am loving it!)

Before starting the review I want to thank authors for the ‘Caution’ at the beginning of the book. For me it is so usual that I start laughing or crying while reading but this time there was a ‘Caution’ so I was more prepared 🙂

‘‘Caution: May cause accidental aspiration of tea or coffee. Do not read in a public place where loud laughter is inappropriate. Contains hot but hilarious hockey players, puppy cuddling and a snarky pair of underwear.’’

If you already read ‘Him’ series, you already met with our hero and heroine. Blake Riley is Wesley’s teammate and also Wesmie’s neighbor, who is loud, annoying and have a tendency to knock on the door at the most inappropriate times. Jess is Jamie’s sister, who cannot stick to a career more than a few months.

‘Good Boy’ starts with Wesley and Jamie’s wedding. Jess is the wedding planner and also the maid of honor and Blake is Wesley’s best man. I loved the banter between Blake and Jess that started at the very beginning. It was hilarious. After their one night stand in Toronto, Blake is looking for a repeat while Jess is determined that there are no repeats. Their chemistry is off the charts and they drive each other crazy. But it is really hard to avoid Blake, who has a big personality. His is loud, funny, protective, sweet, stubborn, selfless and full of life. His is the biggest man-child ever. It is impossible to imagine him being serious but he knows when to step up and be mature. Jess is also really protective, sweet and loyal. Because she still didn’t find her calling, she keeps jumping from one career to another, which make her feel like a failure. Also depending on her parents financially makes her feel like a burden. But finally she decides that being a nurse is her calling and this time she wants to reach her goal on her own. And when she gets into a nursing program in Toronto, her only goal is to focus in school. What she miscalculates is how persistent Blake is with his pursuit. It is for you to find out how persistent Blake and how determined Jess are but be ready for laughter 🙂

‘Good Boy’ is fast paced, funny and sexy read and I couldn’t put it down until I was done. There is nothing I didn’t like about this book. I am looking forward to read the second book of the series ‘Stay’ which will come out on June 20th, 2017.

  • Would I recommend this book: Yes.
  • Would I re-read this book: Definitely.
  • Would I read future books by these authors: Yes.

5star

Add to Goodreads

P.S. After reading this book I couldn’t help but go back and read ‘Him’ series so Wesmie’s review will be up next 🙂

7 thoughts on “‘Good Boy’ by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

Leave a Reply

